Likelihood of Trump’s Appeal to SCOTUS on the Immunity Issue Just Doubled

Oddly, because of the oral arguments on the 14th Amendment matter

Gippolito Ndp
3 min readFeb 8, 2024
Photo by Edge2Edge Media on Unsplash

In my last article I opined that Trump would almost certainly petition SCOTUS to challenge the devastating (to him) ruling by the DC Circuit regarding his silly absolute immunity and double jeopardy arguments.

I also gave my idea of why that would likely occur — having nothing whatever to do with belief in his argument, but really all about seeking delay, as much delay as possible.

Then today SCOTUS held oral arguments in the 14th Amendment case, and I see even more probability that Trump will seek SCOTUS review of the other case … the immunity and double jeopardy issues, as a result.

What, you say? How are they related?

Well, they’re not … not really. But they have a common factor. That factor is the arrogance and narcissism of Donald Trump.

Let me explain.

The reporting on the oral arguments (all over the place, but I gave a link above to one source with the actual transcript) was that it seemed to be leaning towards supporting Trump.

I’ve been a lawyer for many years, and I know from experience that it’s quite easy to misinterpret…

--

--

Gippolito Ndp

Dad, G-dad, veteran, semi-retired lawyer, archaeologist, writer