The Next Trump Indictment

Special Counsel Jack Smith in the federal sphere, or Fani Willis the D.A. in Fulton County, Georgia?

Gippolito Ndp
4 min readApr 18, 2023
Photo by Maria Thalassinou on Unsplash

In one of my February articles (February 10th), I suggested that Manhattan D.A. Alvin Bragg was looking likely to be the first to indict Donald Trump, and that the charges were likely to be more than just the Stormy Daniels’ hush money payment.

Then, in early April we learned that on March 30th the Manhattan grand jury had voted out a 34-count felony indictment of Trump. Here’s a little artwork from the D.A.’s press release of April 4th linked above:

Screenshot by author from Manhattan D.A. press release 4/4/23, accessed 4/18/23

The only thing that truly surprised me was the lack of a RICO (the New York statute is sometimes called “little RICO”) theory explicitly charged, which I was rather expecting.

Let’s talk about what criminal charges come next for Donald Trump and see if I can get it right again.

First, let me say right off that I fully anticipate Trump (and others) will be indicted for various crimes in both Georgia and federally. I believe it is only a matter of time.

--

--

Gippolito Ndp

Dad, G-dad, veteran, semi-retired lawyer, archaeologist, writer